Inari AGAIN at Hatsuuma 2016!

inari6

Today is Hatsuuma, which is the feast day of Inari Ookami. I was a bit sad because although it fell on a Saturday which would usually mean I’d be off work and have more time to celebrate, it just so happened that I had to work this Saturday at an anime convention.

However, O-Inarisama still found a way of making an appearance! At the convention, I happened to find the stand of the artist who had drawn the picture above, which I had seen before circulated on the Inari Faith International Facebook page, originally from Fur Affinity. This image is so beautiful and so full of Inari symbolism that I knew I had to buy it straight away.

I talked a little with the artist, who has apparently been to Fushimi Inari Taisha but she seemed unaware that O-Inarisama is in fact a revered deity. It’s amazing that she could produce something so meaningful to Inari devotees even without some of the background knowledge – perhaps it just shows her sensitivity as an artist! My print is now proudly displayed above my Inari altar along with my Inari-zushi and mochi offerings for Hatsuuma.

Leave a comment

Filed under Rituals & Festivals, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

