The Finished Holly Kings

Last post, I posted pictures of some of the Holly King decorations I made out of salt dough to give to friends and relatives for Christmas. I’ve made a few more, as well as painted and glazed them, so I thought I’d share the finished items here!

WP_20151209_21_03_59_Pro

This was the first one I made; I based the shape very much the one on the Green Man mask I made for Beltane. My husband thought it looked a bit scary from a non-Pagan perspective – a bit devilish, perhaps? So I tried to make the other Holly Kings without such pointy horns.

WP_20151209_21_04_32_Pro

I really like how this one turned out; I thought the shape looked very “classic,” like the Green Man faces you see at churches.

WP_20151209_21_05_08_Pro

This is another one of my favourites. I think it looks a little like a pixie! This one I didn’t put a hole in for the ribbon as I wasn’t sure if the final products would be strong enough to support their own weight when hung so I made some without holes – it turns out that after baking, they are pretty strong and I didn’t have anything to worry about. I plan to stick strong magnets on the backs of the ones without holes.

WP_20151209_21_06_39_Pro

I experimented with making a Holly King with a proper face, rather than just a mask. It turned out alright, but I decided I preferred the mask design better.

WP_20151209_21_07_47_Pro

Some other small masks, including an Ivy King (Queen) at the bottom.

WP_20151209_21_08_19_Pro

This is the smallest one I made. Making eye holds within the holly leaves on such a small scale is really difficult, so I cheated and poked in the eyes with a straw after putting in the holly. I don’t think the result is as nice as shaping the holly around existing eye holes. I think this one turned out cute though.

WP_20151209_21_07_02_Pro

These two were my least favourite – they were made in the second batch, and for some reason the salt dough didn’t turn out as well that time (I think it needed more flour), and the result was harder to shape and a bit flat. Also, with the Ivy King I experimented with a different painting process (painting dark on light as opposed to light on dark which is what I did for the others), and didn’t like the result as much. But as a pair, I think they go together really nicely so I’ll give them as a couple.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Art & Expression, Rituals & Festivals

One response to “The Finished Holly Kings

  1. Pingback: Winter Solstice 2015 | Trellia's Mirror Book

Leave a Reply

