Salt Dough Holly Kings

hollykings

Today I was racking my brains trying to think of the perfect Christmas gifts for some of my relatives. Then I remembered that one of my aunts likes to paint us pictures as gifts, and I thought, why don’t I try making something as well?

I thought about the Green Man mask I made for Beltane, and wanted to try something similar. So I decided to make some salt dough Holly King ornaments that my relatives could put on their Christmas trees. I’ve had a go making things with salt dough before and found it pretty easy and fun.

Above is the result. It was a lot of fun, and because they’re flat, the Holly kings turned out a lot better than my first salt dough ornaments. Now all I have to do is paint them and puts some nice ribbons on them for hanging on the tree! And if they turn out well, I think I’ll make some more…

3 Comments

Filed under Art & Expression, Rituals & Festivals

3 responses to “Salt Dough Holly Kings

  1. Wow, that’s some good work right there!

  2. Pingback: The Finished Holly Kings | Trellia's Mirror Book

Leave a Reply

