Yes, Environmentalism is Humanist

greenman4

By Lauren raine (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

I’ve heard some arguments that environmentalism is inherently misanthropic. In other words, environmentalism limits progress, oppresses the masses, and is rooted on the pessimistic assumption that humans are bad, destructive creatures undeserving of nature’s bounty. I’ve encountered some (but by no means all) Humanists  who hold this view, because they believe ultimately in the goodness of mankind, and that the needs of our species should always come first.

But I believe this is precisely why arguments for environmentalism are Humanist ones…[Read more]

5 Comments

Filed under Nature & Environment

5 responses to “Yes, Environmentalism is Humanist

  1. Great read! You got me thinking a bit 😉 as I am an environmentalist who isn’t too happy with what humans are doing to the planet. You are very correct that I am fighting to keep My Mother happy and in her current mood. However. . You’re are right, again. Who am I to say this is what My Mother wants or needs? I must be doing it for humans. .. Gaaa! Does that make me a humanist?!?
    I need to go contemplate this plight. 😉 I’m not ready to accept that title.

    • Thank you! 🙂 I see Mother Nature as *our* Mother, i.e. the Mother of humans and other species that live in the same ecosystem as we do. I want to protect Her because She is who gives me life. I do not care about other forms of life that could potentially live if myself or other species were to become extinct – I care about that which I know now. A “Mother Nature” of a world uninhabitable by humans would not be “my” Mother, so I would not fight to protect her. In a way, it’s both self-preservation and tribalism (i.e. the tribe of humans and other life-forms of this ecosystem).

  2. Great sum-up!
    I still need to let this settle in, however you have gave me a great deal to think about. Thank you again! !

Leave a Reply

