Temporary re-location of the Inari Altar

inari2

In the run-up to my husband and I moving house, I have relocated the fox statues, as well as the offering dishes, from my outside Inari shrine to my indoor altar, after cleaning them up a little. There is an o-mamori from Fushimi Inari Taisha on my indoor altar (it’s currently hidden behind the sun plaque), so it still seems fitting.

As you can see, I’ve also packed up a lot of the items that were once on my indoor altar so it’s looking pretty bare!

I’ve had the Inari altar outside as a tribute to the local foxes for over a year now, so this really does feel a little sad – the end of an era. I have no idea whether our new house has any foxes living nearby, so I do not know as of yet whether I will have a shrine to Inari Okami outside or inside. One’s things for certain though – foxes or no, I will continue to maintain an altar of sorts to Inari Okami and continue venerating her.

Although I will discontinue giving fresh food and sake offerings for now, I will continue my daily practise of burning incense and making a brief prayer at this altar. I hope Inari Okami does not mind this temporary change in routine until my husband and I are settled in our new home.

4 Comments

Filed under Shinto / Japanese Religion

4 responses to “Temporary re-location of the Inari Altar

  1. EmilyAnn Frances

    Relax. It’s the pure heart that is the true shrine of Spirit and our love and devotion is the genuine offering.

  2. EmilyAnn Frances

    Relax. It is the pure heart which is a fitting shrine for Spirit. One’s love and devotion along with a desire for truth and what is right are the offerings.

      • I had to learn I actually ended up giving my devotional altar, artwork of Mary Magdalene, St. Martha and the Black Madonna when I got too attached to these things. It was like I couldn’t pray when I was at the park or going on a lovely walk. No, I had to be there fussing with the objects and worrying about the scented candles. sometimes these cues are a sign that one has to detach from the objects and realize they are a means to an end but not the end in themselves.

Leave a Reply

