Trip to Castell Coch

1024px-Castle_Coch_from_A470

“Castle Coch from A470” by RJMorgans – Own work. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons

This bank holiday Monday, my husband and I went to Wales with my parents to visit relatives. On the way, we dropped into a local landmark that I’ve passed probably hundreds of times but to my memory have never visited – Castell Coch. Located high up on a hill and surrounded by forest, my parents used to tell me as a child that it was Cinderella’s Castle, and you can see why! It is in fact a 19th century Gothic Revival castle built on top of ruins of a medieval by the Marquesses of Bute, one of the wealthiest men in Britain, who commissioned top architect William Burges. The castle looks just as magical and Gothic on the inside as it does on the outside – take a look at some of the pictures I took:

WP_20150525_11_03_21_Pro

The dining room

WP_20150525_11_05_51_Pro

Statues of the Three Fates of Greek mythology in the Drawing Room

WP_20150525_11_10_23_Pro

Lady Bute’s bedroom

WP_20150525_11_29_53_Pro

Finally, I was amused to see that the Crystal Ball in one of the child-friendly exhibits was “Out of Order.” No clairvoyance today then!

2 Comments

Filed under Places

2 responses to “Trip to Castell Coch

  1. I’m putting this on my list of places I must visit

    • It’s really awesome! I also recommend Strawberry Hill House in Twickenham, which is also a Victorian Gothic Revival Castle (and formerly the residence of the father of Gothic fiction, Horace Walpole)

Leave a Reply

