May Full Moon Esbat 2015

My May Esbat altar, including the koi-nobori I blessed for my nephews

My May Esbat altar, including the koi-nobori I blessed for my nephews

Despite what I said yesterday, I did end up going to the Sweeps Festival again today (this time to hang out with my family) – I only took a few pictures, which I’ll probably share tomorrow as I’ll be going again for the final day of Sweeps.

As tonight was the Full Moon, as usual I performed an Esbat ritual. My April ritual was focused on the Goddess (as I consider the festivals of March and April to be “feminine”), and this time I focussed on the God, as both Beltane and Kodomo no Hi have quite a masculine focus.

I also focussed on symbolism of Kodomo no Hi (Children’s Day). I spread a two cloths on my altar – one depicting a koi carp and the other an Asian dragon. The koi carp is one of the most important symbols of Kodomo no Hi, as it symbolises masculine energy and personal development – it is said that if it completes its journey upstream, it changes into a dragon. I made an offering of sake to Ryuujin, the Japanese Dragon God, and asked him to bless my nephews.

Although I saw my nephews today, I’d actually forgotten to bring the koi-nobori I’d bought for them. I took this as a sign that I should use the Esbat as an occasion to bless it, which I did in the name of Ryuujin and the four elements. I hope its energies pass on to my nephews and make them grow strong and healthy!

1 Comment

Filed under Rituals & Festivals, Shinto / Japanese Religion

One response to “May Full Moon Esbat 2015

  1. EmilyAnn Frances

    This is an excellent opportunity to use Kodomo no Hi to introduce the beauties of nature to your nephews. Kids need to get back to using their senses and minds independent of iPhones and laptops. I hope opportunities for long walks or hikes in parklands present themselves. It would be lovely if there were ponds with carps or other fish on the grounds to tie it all together.

Leave a Reply

