A Blessing for Keiro no Hi

Jurojin, God of Longevity in Japan and China. "Jurojin with deer" by native japanese - Mythological Japan : the symbolisms of mythology in relation to Japanese art, with illustrations drawn in Japan, by native artists (1902). Licensed under Public domain via Wikimedia Commons

Jurojin, Taoist God of Longevity. “Jurojin with deer” by native japanese – Mythological Japan : the symbolisms of mythology in relation to Japanese art, with illustrations drawn in Japan, by native artists (1902). Licensed under Public domain via Wikimedia Commons

Today is Keiro no Hi, the Japanese day for Respecting the Elderly.

On this day, I honour my Elders – the Crones and Sages who have supported me, taught me and loved me throughout my life.

I ask for the deities of longevity to bestow a long and healthy life upon my Elders.

Hail Jurojin, God and Fukurokuju, the wise old Gods of Longevity and Wisdom. Bless my Elders with long life, and with us juniors with the wisdom and kindness to respect and care for our Elders.

Hail Gelos, God of Aging. Bless my Elders with health and strength in their seniority.

Hail Saturn, Aion and Janus, Gods of Time. Bless us all with a steady path as we make our own journeys into old age.

So Mote It Be!

1 Comment

Filed under Rituals & Festivals, Shinto / Japanese Religion

One response to “A Blessing for Keiro no Hi

  1. Pingback: “Ostara Bunny” Figurine Make-Over | Trellia's Mirror Book

Leave a Reply

