New vases for the shrine

altar

I’ve made a shrine/altar to Inari Okamisama just outside my house. It’s not a proper kamidana that Shintoists in Japan would normally use to venerate the kami (I explain why here), so I haven’t felt it necessary to procure items for it made especially for use in a kamidana. I present my offerings to Inari in tiny dishes originally designed for burning incense, rather than dishes made especially for this purpose purchased from a Shinto shop. As I’ve been trying to save money on big life milestones, such as our wedding and buying a house, it seems prudent to “make do” with cheaper substitutes rather than purchase a full kamidana kit of shrine items. I feel that Inari, as a deity of money, would understand that!

But one thing that the shrine has been lacking for a while is small vases for making offerings of plants. Vases can be expensive, so rather than look around and purchase the perfect set at a high price, I’ve been waiting patiently for the right set to appear at the right price. And just before the wedding, I managed to find a suitable pair.

I actually found a set of three small vases that were quite similarly shaped to those you might find in a kamidana, and were completely plain and undecorated as they should be, in a local charity shop at a low price. Shinto purists might find it rather disrespectful to the kami to present them with something secondhand (the purity of newness is hugely valued in Shinto), but I felt that as my purchase was helping to benefit a charity (as well as the environment by recycling something unwanted), the kami would see this in  a favourable light. The vases were three different colours – white, silver and chocolate – which isn’t ideal as traditionally the two vases in a kamidana should both be white, but I thought the silver wouldn’t be a bad substitute so I’m currently using the white and the silver.

Usually one would offer sakaki, a type of Japanese evergreen, in these vases, but as this isn’t readily available in Britain, I use whatever plants and flowers I have that seem appropriate (the ones I used here were cuttings from a bunch of flowers my Aunt gave me before my wedding, from here own garden).

I’ve not ruled out buying a full indoor kamidana set in the future, but I’m going to wait until the time feels right. Until then, I’ll keep on venerating Inari in my eclectic Western pagan manner!

Leave a comment

Filed under Shinto / Japanese Religion

Leave a Reply

