Declaring myself “Pagan”

 

Image

Pentacle pendant, which you can buy from my Dad’s shop! http://www.spiral.org.uk

The other day, I had to go to my local walk-in clinic (nothing serious, so don’t worry!) As it was the first time I’d been there, I had to register and give lots of personal details. And when I got asked whether or not I follow a religion, I said, “Pagan.”

This was the first time I’d ever declared myself as Pagan to anyone other than a friend or fellow Pagan, and it filled me with lots of different emotions. I certainly felt proud to declare myself Pagan. But on the other hand, I couldn’t help but feel a little weird too. As a long-lapsed Catholic, I haven’t affiliated myself with any religions in a long, long time, and it felt so strange to be declaring myself as religious now.

But overall I’m pleased I did declare my religion. I think the more open Pagans are about their faith, the more we will be taken seriously as a religion and, I hope, the less ridicule and intolerance we will face from the media (such as this horribly-worded piece from The Metro, for example…)

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings & Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

