Sunday at Higham Marsh

Image

Lake at Higham Marsh © Copyright Glyn Baker

Today being such a beautiful day, my fiancé and I went for a walk in Higham Marsh, just one train stop and a brief walk away from Gravesend.

When I was a child, my family and I would come here every weekend to walk the dogs – they loved running in the undergrowth and swimming in the lakes. But since the dogs got old and could no longer hack walking that far, we stopped going. This Sunday was the first time in over 10 years. And I was delighted to see that it hadn’t change a bit.

Although it’s hardly wilderness (there’s lots of industry in the area which is always present in sight and sound), it is beautiful and has a very interesting ecosystem, where the more unusual animals are the norm. Instead of the more familiar Common Frogs, you’ll see the bright green, speckled Edible Frogs; and instead of the usual black ants, there are yellow meadow ants and big wood ants. As usual, I made a small offering of herbs underneath a particularly beautiful cherry tree.

We walked for about an hour or so and really enjoyed being out in the sun and in nature. I would definitely like to come back again soon, and I have a list of things I aim to do next time:

– Try to go early in the morning so I get a better chance of spotting wildlife, such as lapwings (I didn’t see any this time)
– Do a bit of litter-picking (there’s an awful lot of litter there on the watersides).
– Take a camera!
– Try to identify more of the trees and plants – either bring a guidebook, or take photos of them and look them up at home afterwards
– Visit the nearby St Mary’s Church, which dates all the way back to Norman times.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nature & Environment, Places

Leave a Reply

